What does fibromyalgia feel like?

Fibromyalgia is the strangest condition. Sometimes you feel achy, like you’re fighting a viral infection. Sometimes the pain is a burning sensation, similar to what you might feel in your muscles during strenuous exercise. Sometimes the pain is widespread, and other times it is much more localized to discrete areas of the body.

The pain is usually accompanied by a deep, all-encompassing fatigue, often accompanied by headache. I’ve read many articles that suggest fibromyalgia patients avoid caffeine. That’s probably a healthy suggestion, but often I need the caffeine just to stay awake at the wheel. It also seems to help with the headaches. Caffeine aggravates interstitial cystitis, however, so I do try to balance the need to stay awake during the day with the desire to avoid bladder irritation and the constant urgency and frequency that comes with it. I’ve pulled way too many all-nighters due to irritable bladder.

Fibromyalgia symptoms are different for everyone. If you’re suffering today, I hope you get the rest and pain relief that your body needs. If your loved one suffers, I hope this gives you a bit more insight into the condition.

Author: livingwithicandfibro

I'm a mom, a biologist, and an aspiring musician. I try not to let pain keep me from what I want to do.

Leave a comment